An Introduction to Book Collecting

I grew up surrounded by books. I was taught how to read when I was just two years old, and have never stopped living my life stuck among those welcoming pages. I’ve always enjoyed visiting libraries, book stores, and book fairs. I grew up in Escondido, California, and there were several great options for finding interesting reads. As of now, there are about ten different places to find and buy books. Oh, how I miss it! I used to follow my grandmother around hole-in-the-wall bookstores, watching as she carefully examined different aspects of each title that caught her eye. She started collecting books when she was in her twenties, and passed the love of literature onto me.

My father and stepmother have shelves and shelves of books, and my father has a few rare ones proudly holding their own among various science-fiction titles. My mentor/mother-figure has a beautiful library in her home, with ceiling-to-floor shelves. I would spend hours curled up in there. It’s still the most peaceful and relaxing place I have ever been.

I have always loved reading and hunting for books, but it was not until just a few years ago that I truly dove into finding out what makes a book collectible. I learned all about (and am still learning!) how to evaluate the condition of a book, and how to determine whether or not it is a first edition. I look looking up the prices of books using AbeBooks, Ebay, and other various sites. I’ve even found a few gems on Craigslist!

I compiled a list of book collecting tips. To check them out, head on over to the post on my website: http://www.alexiapbullard.com/booklexia-blog/introduction-book-collecting

Leave a Reply

