Book Review: I, Justine: An Analog Memoir, by Justine Ezarik

I, Justine: An Analog Memoir - Book Review - Booklexia

ISBN-13:9781476791524
Publisher: Atria/Keywords Press
Publication date: 06/02/2015
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book

Official Summary: 

A one-woman media phenomenon and a leading YouTube influencer takes readers behind the camera, and deep inside her world.

Justine Ezarik has been tech-obsessed since unboxing her family’s first Apple computer. By sixth grade she had built her first website. A decade later, she became one of the Internet’s first—and most popular—“lifecasters,” inviting people around the world to watch her every move, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. But it was a one-minute video about an itemized AT&T bill that gave Justine her first taste of viralsuccess: Within ten days of release, her “300-page iPhone bill” had garnered more than 3 million views and international media attention. These days, iJustine is a one-woman new media phenomenon: The popular techie, gamer, vlogger, and digital influencer has an army of nearly 3.5 million subscribers across multiple YouTube channels, with total views approaching half a billion.

Now, Justine is giving friends and fans a look behind the scenes, sharing never-before-told stories about the hilarious (and sometimes heartbreaking) reality of sharing your life online. With her trademark wit and delightfully weird sense of humor, Justine delivers an inspirational message in support of creativity, entrepreneurship, and the power of staying true to yourself, while reminding readers that the Internet is a very small world—you just never know who you’re going to meet.

My Review: 

I want to preface this book review by stating that I really admire iJustine and the immense amount of effort that she has put into her career. She is such an inspiration, and I I learned a lot more about her as a person, and found that I admire her even more.

This memoir follows Justine’s geeky life, starting with being in a hacking/gaming club that had their own t-shirts. She illustrates her early obsession with technology, especially the gaming side of things and Apple products. The reader follows along as she shares anecdote after anecdote that lead to her becoming iJustine.

iJustine writes in a comfortable, conversational tone that gives a lot of insight into her real-life personality, as opposed to the online persona she adopts for the camera. Some of the experiences she shares with us as her readers are hilarious (most are, in fact), some are touching, and some are downright terrifying. She reminds us that, while the internet has an endless amount of opportunities for those who are willing to work for them, it can also be a scary place. It’s full of inspiring, friendly people, but also definitely has its darker side that is full of creeps and stalkers.

iJustine tells us to throw away our reservations because, if you are not being your true self, then what is the point? She exemplifies this advice perfectly and, I must admit, surprised me. While I always enjoyed her as an entertainer and admired the hard work that goes into creating a constant stream of content like she does, I did not know just how far she had to come to be the famous iJustine that she is today. She started from nothing, and worked her way to the top. She has received numerous awards for her dedication and work, and I am definitely glad that I pre-ordered my copy of this. It was well worth the money.

I teared up in parts, but mostly I spent my reading time trying to stifle my laughter so as to not wake up my sleeping husband! Her writing is honest, hilarious, and conversational. It was like sitting down and chatting with an old friend. Some of the tech-geek parts may deter some readers, but I think it’s safe to say that I recommend it to any of my fellow nerds. 

If you are not yet a fan of iJustine, you will be after reading this!

Pick up your own copy HERE.

Are YOU a fan of iJustine? If so, have you read this book? Let me know your thoughts and opinions!



Alexia (2)

4 comments

Leave a Reply

